Sep 28, 2018 - 04:57 PM
It is safe to upload your resume to Indeed, and your personal information is viewable only in a very limited number of situations over which you have control.
When you upload a resume to your Indeed profile, you have a choice of two settings, “Public” and “Private.” The “Public” setting allows your resume to be searchable by employers and recruiters using Indeed, but personal contact information is not displayed unless you actually apply for a job through Indeed. When you do apply for a job, your personal information is shared only with the employer to whom you submitted the application. The “Private” setting differs in that your resume is not searchable, and again, your personal contact information is shared only when you submit an application.
Storing your personal information on Indeed is as safe as with most other reputable online services or businesses that have your personal information. That is to say, it is wise to remember data breaches are still common, and few online databases are completely secure. Take the usual precautions to protect your resume and Indeed profile from identity theft: Do not include your Social Security, passport, or driver's license number, or contact information of anyone other than yourself.
Aug 22, 2018 - 01:17 AM
Here's what you need to know about this type of resume posting site. You have control over who can see your resume. When you first upload or create your document, you can set the privacy settings to either public or private.
Recruiters and hiring managers can find a public resume. However, not all of your information gets shown right away. Your personal details, such as street address, email address, and phone number, do not show up unless you apply to a job. If someone looks at your document, they don't get to see this private information.
If you choose to post a private resume, no one can see it until you apply to a job. This method has its benefits, especially for jobseekers who currently have a job.